Raising Mini-Me

Every 10 minutes, there is a fashion show at my house.

This is the perk to raising a little girl whose  imagination is larger than her pint-sized body.  She expresses herself and imagination through clothing.  There is no playing dressup, her wardrobe is a dressup. Everything she wears is like watching a storybook unfold. But, that’s okay. I allow it.

Her idea of dressing up typically includes one or two pieces of mismatched pieces.  A pink long sleeve shirt, with a swirling princess on it; along with a leopard tulle skirt, green cable tights and pink UGG boots.  To her, she transforms into a princess. To me, she transforms into a little daring fashionista.

When we are out, I allow my daughter to flaunt her outfit proudly; never giving on-lookers the disclaimer that “she dressed herself.”

Who cares!

I am allowing my little girl to keep her innocence, while developing her fashion sense.  The more I allow her to express her individuality, the more space I am giving her imagination to grow (and the less she screams!).

In avoiding those screaming fits thrown by the pint-sized fashionista, I opt for stores with collections.  The Gap is a friend to any mother with an imaginative daughter.  Their collections are based on themes and colors. This allows room for any mix and matching of different pieces. It, also, allows me ample space to give my daughter the reigns to her sense of style.

As a mom-a-nista, I am all about dressing my daughter.  At times, she just doesn’t win the battle, because my fashionable eye wins 🙂

LG2 LG1

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Raising Mini-Me

Leave a Reply

